Mahaquizzer 2011

Update about Mahaquizzer 2011


Mahaquizzer 2011 was held in 14 Indian cities with non-competitive entries from the USA, UK & Germany. 

The All India Winner is Dr. Arul Mani from Bangalore with a score of 86. Following him closely is Anustup Dutta from Bangalore at 84 and Swaminathan from Chennai at 81.

Dr. Arul Mani will be presented with the Wing Co. GR Mulky Trophy for Quizzing Excellence 2011 at the KQA’s 28th Anniversary Quizzing Festival (June 24-26 2011) in Bangalore.

In the Ladies Category Mrs. Jayashree Mohanka from Kolkata topped with a score of 76 followed by Mrs. Saranya Jayakumar from Chennai scoring 69. Debashree Mitra from Bangalore scored 63 to complete the Top 3 Ladies line-up.

In the College Category, Srikant Parameswaran from IIMC powered his way into the All India Top 5 (a first for a college student in the 7 year history of Mahaquizzer) apart from being crowned All India College Winner . He scored 78 & brings Coimbatore into the Top 5 too! Following him is Siddharth Bannerjee from Delhi at 54 and Varun Rajiv from NLSIU Bangalore at 49.

In the school category, we saw a larger turnout than previous editions. Julian D’Costa from Goa won the All India School category with an impressive 36 and defended his last year’s title. Anunay Kulshrestha from Delhi came second with a score of 28 and Nikhil Gorge from Trivandrum came third with a score of 24.

In the International Entries (Non-Competitive), Pat Gibson from the UK scored 95.

Congratulations to all Winners.

The Top 100 scores are up at the following link:

Mumbai has the highest Top 20 scores followed by Bangalore.

The City Wise Winners in the Open/Ladies/School/College Categories are up at the following link:

The Mahaquizzer 2011 Qns  are available at

The Mahaquizzer 2011 Ans  are available at

The Mahaquizzer 2011 research team of Urmila Lakshmanan, Rahul Kottalgi, Vivek Karthikeyan, Rajagopal & myself would love to hear feedback on the quiz (you can email us or

We would like to thank all the city coordinators, proctors & various quizzing associations who helped us organize the quiz. Thanks to Chris Jones of IQA who organized it in the UK.

MahaQuizzer 2011, the seventh edition of the National Solo Quiz Championship by the KQA will be held in 14 cities across India (and in the UK & US)  on Sunday 29th May 2011.

As usual, the quiz will require takers to answer 150 questions in 90 minutes.

Participants are requested to be at the venue latest by 9:30AM to ensure an on-time start! Anyone arriving after 10AM IST is strictly not allowed to participate (whatever be the reason!).

Prizes in each city for best School, College, Lady and Open entrant. The School Category is defined as per the Karnataka Quiz Association as students upto Standard X. Standard XI, XII are counted as College.

Please use the link ( ) to register for Mahaquizzer 2011. If you have already registered via email, you do not need to fill out the form.

Also find attached the poster for the quiz which we request be used for any local publicity by quizzing groups. The current venue list & list of local contacts is also attached for your information.


Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: